• Sep 10th, 2018 11:36 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Aug 29, 2008
647 posts
33 upvotes
Toronto

Dealing with huge debt

Hey I'm here to ask for personal finance advise.

I recently graduated from university, I had my own business as well for several years. While trying to do both, I ended up focusing very little on the business and wasn't very profitable. I put a ton of debt on my credit card because of that. The good part is I graduated, the bad part is that I have 27k on my credit card racked up over the years. I also have 40k on student loan.

Now I'm working making $2700 a month in the meantime while I grab experience (as I did not do co-op due to the failure business)

So...I have 67k of debt to pay...bills barely cover living expenses and a bit more.

What would you do here so I don't pay for loans/credit card for the next 20 years? I considered bankruptcy 2 months ago while unemployed but I decided I would find a way without it.

Bills:
Rent: $700
Cell phone: $70
Car (cheap, owned and needed for work): $600 (includes average maintenance. repairs and depreciation, gas, and insurance)
Smokes: $200 (yeah I know I should quit but hard in the position I am in)
Food: $300
Extras: $200
Credit Card Interest: $360
TOTAL (not including student loan) = 2430

= $2430

I basically would like to know if anybody has been in this situation and what would you recommend, I don't see much of a way out unless I switch jobs and make 6k+ which is easier said than done. Any advise is greatly appreciated.
37 replies
Sep 27, 2004
246 posts
40 upvotes
Ottawa
Quit smoking. No one can help you but yourself.
Deal Addict
Oct 13, 2006
1769 posts
338 upvotes
Burnaby