Tags:
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Jan 9, 2011
5634 posts
5603 upvotes
Vancouver

Deliveries left on doorstep

Continuing this discussion from another thread.

• On December 30th I got an email notice from Canada Post that a package was "delivered." I came home on January 1st to find no package. Obviously it was stolen. Made a Canada Post claim and the sender mailed me another one, this time by Purolator.
  • Purolator delivered the replacement package today. It too was left on my doorstep. There was no knock or anything, I just found the package there when I went outside. Stuff gets stolen in this neighbourhood, this would certainly have been stolen too if it had been left much longer.
  • I've even had gift card orders left on the doorstep, despite me having a secure mail slot in my front door that they would have easily fit through.

This is getting to be a big problem. When I worked as a courier years ago if the recipient was not there, we had to get recipient permission over the phone even to drop them through a secure mail slot. No permission, no slotting. Leaving deliveries in an unsecured mailbox or at the doorstep was unthinkable. What has happened to make this so prevalent? Has anyone made a "Do NOT leave deliveries at doorstep. They WILL be stolen" sign and has it worked?
Last edited by Kiraly on Jan 10th, 2019 6:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
60 replies
Dec 29, 2012
830 posts
259 upvotes
Scarborough
UPS did that to me today, after requesting online and many phone calls to tell them when I would be at home. Found packages outside door today ...
Deal Addict
Nov 28, 2013
2100 posts
781 upvotes
Quebec
People are always gonna bitch

Company left package on doorstep. People will say. BUT IT MIGHT GET STOLEN
Company leave a note asking you to go pick it up, then people will bitch they have to move to get their package that they order to get at your house

Damn if you do damn if you don't
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Jan 9, 2011
5634 posts
5603 upvotes
Vancouver
TomLafinsky wrote: