Tags:
None
[OP]
Nov 27, 2014
70 posts
25 upvotes
Etobicoke, ON

Dell laptop died 3 months out of warrenty

So my Dell XPS 15 decided to crap out on me today for good while I'm studying for midterms. The power button only lights up for a few seconds before turning off again and the battery no longer charges at all. I hear absolutely nothing running inside the laptop, no fan or any crackle of life. I suspect motherboard failure and it sounds costly.

So my options now are:

Renew warranty and hope they repair right after renewal (I need to call in for a quote)

Dell out of service repair

Find a third party repair shop in Toronto and pray

What's my best option right now? I didn't renew when it expired because I had no issues before now and I figured a $1600 laptop would be built to last. Well that was a screwup.
28 replies
Penalty Box
Feb 10, 2007
9833 posts
1047 upvotes
Call their support and ask for courtesy support
[self promotion rule violation, removed twice already][self promotion rule violation, removed twice already][self promotion rule violation, removed twice already][self promotion rule violation, removed twice already][self promotion rule violation, removed twice already]
Deal Addict
Mar 10, 2005
4672 posts
558 upvotes
KanieWest wrote:
Oct 12th, 2017 2:09 pm
So my Dell XPS 15 decided to crap out on me today for good while I'm studying for midterms. The power button only lights up for a few seconds before turning off again and the battery no longer charges at all. I hear absolutely nothing running inside the laptop, no fan or any crackle of life. I suspect motherboard failure and it sounds costly.

So my options now are:

Renew warranty and hope they repair right after renewal (I need to call in for a quote)

What's my best option right now? I didn't renew when it expired because I had no issues before now and I figured a $1600 laptop would be built to last. Well that was a screwup.