Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Mar 10, 2005
7569 posts
1974 upvotes

Dell restocking fee

I am mad. I've been ordering from dell for many years. Last week I ordered a laptop and after it was shipped I realized that I ordered the incorrect laptop - wrong cpu. I want to return the unopened package but dell wants to charge me a 15% restocking fee!

I dont get it? I expect this from stores like tigerdirect but never expected it from dell. Any one here able to get this fee waived?
12 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 9, 2005
4190 posts
1462 upvotes
Vulcan, AB
blexann wrote:
Dec 17th, 2013 10:03 pm
I am mad. I've been ordering from dell for many years. Last week I ordered a laptop and after it was shipped I realized that I ordered the incorrect laptop - wrong cpu. I want to return the unopened package but dell wants to charge me a 15% restocking fee!

I dont get it? I expect this from stores like tigerdirect but never expected it from dell. Any one here able to get this fee waived?
If it's unopened, complain and they will remove the restocking fee. I had a similar experience with a monitor once.
Deal Addict
Jan 30, 2007
3036 posts
208 upvotes
Surrey
blexann wrote:

You ordered the item and confirmed it as being correct They prepped it and sent it in good faith. It was your mistake and not theirs, so a restocking fee is not unreasonable, especially since it's outlined in the terms of sale you agreed to when making the order.
Alan lost his fight against cancer at just 5 years, 2 months old. I'm riding to Conquer Cancer, in memory of Alan.
Please donate toward my fundraising efforts and support research into childhood cancers.
Simply scan my avatar to go straight to the donation page!
Deal Expert
Jan 7, 2002
16226 posts
8555 upvotes
Waterloo, ON
blexann wrote:
after it was shipped I realized that I ordered the incorrect laptop - wrong cpu... I want to return the unopened package but dell wants to charge me a 15% restocking fee!