Real Estate

Did you buy a pre construction home in 2018? Looking for some advice

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 11th, 2018 12:31 pm
Dec 8, 2018
10 posts
2 upvotes

Did you buy a pre construction home in 2018? Looking for some advice

Posting this from a temp account but I am a long time RFD veteran with over 10k posts, just don't want this linked to my account

Hi all!

Going through the process of potentially buying from a new builder, they have a home that's currently in the framing stage for sale and I have some questions..

I hear new builders won't discount their sticker price. But this builder has not ever reduced their prices to reflect the slow market and the fact homes are now selling for under asking prices. We did not get what we asked for when we sold our home, and the development looks to be quite slow in there now.

1. Is it possible they are actually hurting right now? Is there still no chance of them budging on their sticker price?

2. If they won't budge on sticker price (which I still find stupid, if so), am I still legally allowed to go in there and make a stink bid? Let's say their sticker price is $600k. Why can't I offer $550?

3. To go further, if you guys come back with a bunch of resounding 'no's' to them budging on sticker price, then at least tell me what I should be asking for. Builder upgrades? Would I ask for stuff like glass shower doors in all showers, laminate instead of carpet, pot lights, things like this?

4. HOW far should I push it?

5. If I make a stink bid, and they reject it, I have a feeling they'd at least counter. Does this happen?

Thanks for all of your time and help, it is much appreciated!
26 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 22, 2004
1621 posts
766 upvotes
GTA