• Last Updated:
  • Mar 23rd, 2020 11:08 am
[OP]
Sep 5, 2011
380 posts
379 upvotes
MISSISSAUGA

DIY: California/Plantation Shutters w/ basic tools

Based on some recent interests & request on this forum for shutters, I have decided to put together a complete guide on how to make your own wooden shutters with minimal tools. I have built these set of shutters with just some common everyday tool, a $200 mitre saw & $50 circular saw.
Shutters032.jpg

The purpose of this thread is for entertainment/educational purposes only. I am not creating this thread to promote shutters nor am I here to persuade you. I know it is not for everyone. If you want shutters for your home but can’t justify the cost, this might just be the thread for you. It is a lot easier to make than you may think. If you still have questions after reading this thread, feel free to ask me anything about shutters. I have over 15 years of experience in this industry.

Here is my cost break down for the window I used as an example: 22"x46" window.

Stile - 8' @ 1.98 = $15.84
Rail - 4' @ 2.28 = $9.12
Louvre - 21' @ 1.28 = $26.88
Aluminum Tilt rod - Half of the rod is $7.49
Rear Louvre control pins - 13pcs is $2.60
Standard louvre pins - 7 pcs is $1.05
Tension control pins - 6 pcs is $1.20
Pair of hinges $2.98
Magnet kits $4.48

Grand total for one panel is $71.64. Please note that this is just for the shutter components only. The finish/labour is not included because it varies significantly depending on the finish you want to use.

PREPARING YOUR WINDOWS

Most people don’t need to do this step but since I am in the process of renovating my entire house, I get to replace all of the casing with my own custom made moulding. I started by ripping out all of the old casing

Original window casing

Shutters001.jpg

Remove the old casing

Shutters002.jpg

Remove the old window jamb

Shutters003.jpg