Students

Do or Don't Teachers College @ 26 - 2017

• Last Updated:
  • May 28th, 2017 1:26 am
Mar 1, 2017
1 posts
1 upvote

Do or Don't Teachers College @ 26 - 2017

The Skinny: I am 26 years old, female. Graduated from UoGuelph with a 3 year BA (Geo and English) working as an Administrative Assistant at an Engineering company in Toronto – who has just been accepted to Ottawa U for the Intermediate/Senior program in the fall and I have two weeks to make the decision of whether to take it or continue my life here.

I’ve been searching for a career since I graduated university and haven’t thought of anything else I would enjoy doing as much as teaching (I loved being a swimming instructor growing up). I was scared to apply to teacher’s college because I only had a 3 year degree and my average was in the low 70’s and didn’t think I had a chance in hell at getting in. However, I was laid off in September from my office manager job at an engineering firm and figured WHY NOT?
Now in early March I am two months into a new job at a much more stable engineering company with a lot of room for growth as an administrative assistant – making a decent $50K with benefits and 3 weeks vacation (a big step up from my previous job) – and I’ve just realized that I’ve been accepted to the University of Ottawa in the Intermediate/Senior stream to teach Geography and English.