• Last Updated:
  • Jan 30th, 2019 9:17 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 13, 2016
2655 posts
2084 upvotes

Driving license expired

I have been a non resident of Canada for the past 4 years. My Ontario driver's license expired in 2015. My understanding is that if I am to return to canada, I would have to pass another exam.

What if I am able to obtain a license in another country? Would I be able to transfer it, or do I still need to pass the test?
24 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 2, 2011
2373 posts
927 upvotes
https://www.ontario.ca/page/renew-expir ... rs-licence

Invalid: 3-10 years
To renew, you will need to take:

a written knowledge test
an eye test
two road tests (G1 and G2)
you can book your first road test as soon as you pass your knowledge and eye tests
you can book your G2 road test, as soon as you pass your G1 road test
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 13, 2016
2655 posts
2084 upvotes
Ok.

But, what if I obtain a valid driver's license from another country?

Another question. Are these laws provincial? I am reading now that expired license is renewable in Alberta after 5 years. Would that work if your previous license was in Ontario?
Deal Expert
Jul 30, 2007
22672 posts
7711 upvotes
Toronto
If you are to get a new DL here, what address are you using on it ?
Dec 17, 2015
458 posts
153 upvotes
York, ON
BiegeToyota wrote: Ok.

But, what if I obtain a valid driver's license from another country?

Another question. Are these laws provincial? I am reading now that expired license is renewable in Alberta after 5 years. Would that work if your previous license was in Ontario?

Bigger question is where your license from other country. If you have valid license somewhere else then apply for international licence, check and see if you qualify.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 13, 2016
2655 posts
2084 upvotes
booblehead wrote:
Jan 25th, 2019 9:43 pm
If you are to get a new DL here, what address are you using on it ?
Let's say I move to Alberta as, per previous post.
Deal Guru
Mar 9, 2007
10349 posts