• Last Updated:
  • Oct 1st, 2015 12:22 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Mar 26, 2011
19 posts

Driving out of province car in Ontario

I am a BC resident studying full time at a university in Ontario.

Assuming I buy a car, get a license plate and insure it all in BC, will I be able to drive this car in Ontario without buying insurance there ? The insurance there for new drivers are rediculously high.

Second question is, assuming that it is possible to drive an out of province insured car in Ontario, will I have to swap my license my bc license for an Ontario license? I heard somewhere that a student attending university is exempted. The reason why I don't want to swap it is because I have to give my class 5 license up and wait for nearly 2 years before I qualify for their class 5 (G).

Thanks people
7 replies
Jan 1, 2012
239 posts
33 upvotes
KINGSTON
danny6514 wrote:
Feb 24th, 2012 5:43 pm
I am a BC resident studying full time at a university in Ontario.

Assuming I buy a car, get a license plate and insure it all in BC, will I be able to drive this car in Ontario without buying insurance there ? The insurance there for new drivers are rediculously high.

Second question is, assuming that it is possible to drive an out of province insured car in Ontario, will I have to swap my license my bc license for an Ontario license? I heard somewhere that a student attending university is exempted. The reason why I don't want to swap it is because I have to give my class 5 license up and wait for nearly 2 years before I qualify for their class 5 (G).

Thanks people

Usually, the residency of a full-time undergraduate university student is determined by where their parents live.
Query ICBC though, they'll have the final say on payouts.
Deal Addict
Sep 22, 2007
4599 posts
116 upvotes