Art and Photography

DSLR Software for Image Touch-ups/light edits (RAW & JPEG) for Beginners?

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 13th, 2018 3:08 pm
[OP]
Apr 12, 2018
6 posts
3 upvotes

DSLR Software for Image Touch-ups/light edits (RAW & JPEG) for Beginners?

Hey RFD: quick question for you - Do you have any recommendations for a user friendly image editing software that could handle light touch ups/edits for specifically RAW image types?

I'm new to photography and hoping to start shooting in a RAW image format. I've spent a few hours looking at some popular editing software and discovered a few like PaintShop Pro 2018 Ultimate, Affinity, Gimp to name a few, and then of course the various products Adobe offers but with all of their marketing (and admittedly my lack-of experience Smiling Face With Sunglasses) it's hard to tell the features I actually need apart from the "bonus" features that I'll likely never use.

Does anyone have any software they feel might be a good fit for a beginner who is fairly new to both taking photos and editing them?

What (I think) I'm looking for is your basic software that will allow me to do some light touch-ups/editing to a RAW image. While I love having all the bells and whistles, I'm sure I could get by without them. In a perfect world I'd be spending a little time (avg. 10 minutes or less) tweaking each photo to really make it pop. I'll gladly pay for a premium solution like Lightroom if it's a wise purchase, although I'm assuming this would be a complete overkill for me; I view photography as more of a hobby, something I'll do every other weekend, the odd weeknight, or while traveling. I definitely do not view it as a prospective career or source of income.

I'd love to hear any thoughts or recommendations! Thanks in advance.

- Axe
16 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 12, 2004
3920 posts
1180 upvotes
Calgary
Lightroom