PC & Video Games

E3 2018: June 9th - June 12th. New game announcements and possible hardware reveals.

  • Last Updated:
  • Jun 18th, 2018 11:15 pm
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Feb 11, 2007
6749 posts
1681 upvotes

E3 2018: June 9th - June 12th. New game announcements and possible hardware reveals.

E3 2018 Press Conference Schedule

Image

Saturday, June 9
Electronic Arts -- 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET

Sunday, June 10
Microsoft -- 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET
Bethesda -- 6:30 PM PT / 9:30 PM ET

Monday, June 11
Square Enix -- 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET
Ubisoft -- 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET
The PC Gaming show is Monday June 11 @ 3PM PT/6PM ET.
Sony -- 6PM PT/ 9 PM ET

Tuesday, June 12
Nintendo -- 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET

Shawn Layden of Sony stated they not be holding a traditional event; emphasizing that they want to focus on their last PS4 exclusives
and PS5 will not be there at E3 2018.

Summary of Layden's interview:
No hardware announcements at E3 2018 (PS5 reference?)
Sony will focus on 4 upcoming Sony World Wide Studios titles:
Death Stranding
Ghosts of Tsushima
Spider-Man
The Last of Us Part II
Highlight on indies
3rd party publishers

E3 streams and coverage picks:

Youtube E3 - https://www.youtube.com/user/E3
Twitch E3 - twitch.tv/event/e3
Playstation live.playstation.com

Easy Allies - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZrxXp ... 53rZsB3jaA
Giant Bomb - http://www.giantbomb.com/
IGN - https://www.youtube.com/ign/
Kinda Funny Games - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCb4G6W ... 1dm8-a9zjg

Annual EA Conference:
Image



Pre-E3 2018 - announcements and leaks thus far:

From the Walmart leak, they have preemptively put up new pre-order listings for:
Tom Clancy's The Division 2,
Splinter Cell (untitled), Borderlands 3,
Rage 2, Gears of War 5, Forza Horizon 5 (4 is not out yet either :rolleyes: ),
LEGO DC Villans, Assassin's Creed (untitled)



E3 2017 highlights:

Microsoft did unveil the XBox One X at last year's event and released it in November during the same year.
As for the events and presentations, there were no major flubs or outstanding memorable moments during E3 2017.
Maybe the highlight was Bebe Rexha at Ubisoft's conference.




Top 10 countdown of the all-time most embarrassing, unintentionally entertaining, or worst E3 moments:







.
Last edited by XFactor11 on May 11th, 2018 12:01 pm, edited 4 times in total.
107 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 14, 2010
2201 posts
273 upvotes
The PC Gaming show is Monday June 11 @ 3PM PT/6PM ET. Last year X-Com 2: War of the Chosen and Age of Empires Definitive were announced there. The previous year was mostly hardware reveals, like Polaris GPU's and a bunch of VR stuff.
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Feb 11, 2007
6749 posts
1681 upvotes
A lot of games were leaked or announced before E3 this year.
Maybe there won't be many surprises left to announce.

The Walmart leaks and then:

Pokemon Pikachu and Evee for the Switch.
These are considered mainline games (smaller scale) but are not the core ones.
Let's Go = Mainline, Pokemon 2019 = Core

Fallout 76
Devil May Cry 5

Final Fantasy VII Remake is supposed to get a new trailer and it has been a couple years since the last one.
Deal Addict
Jul 14, 2010
2201 posts
273 upvotes
Lets Go was never going to be announced for E3 anyway.

And I really doubt there will be anything from the FFVII Remake. Square Enix just took the game back in-house from Cyber Connect 2 a couple months ago and basically restarted the entire project.
Deal Fanatic
Oct 23, 2004
6315 posts
2382 upvotes
Toronto
The only thing I'm interested in is CDPR hopefully showing Cyberpunk 2077.

That and the memes of course, such as this presenting at E3 Starterpack

Image
Deal Addict
User avatar
Dec 23, 2008
4868 posts
934 upvotes
Milton
tuning in for Bethesda, PlayStation and Nintendo
Deal Guru
User avatar
Jan 6, 2005
10499 posts
2194 upvotes
So, I have never tuned in, or paid much attention, what kind of info is given during these E3 press conferences?
The first rule of RFD is, you do not talk about RFD.

The second rule of RFD is, you DO NOT talk about RFD.
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Feb 11, 2007
6749 posts
1681 upvotes
jackass_ca wrote:
Jun 9th, 2018 11:41 am
So, I have never tuned in, or paid much attention, what kind of info is given during these E3 press conferences?

See the two top 5 and top 10 videos in the first post. Usually there are new game announcements followed by an unveil trailer or gameplay demonstration.
The most eventful E3s are the ones with new hardware or surprise game announcements that did not leak beforehand. There are often unintentionally funny blunders
or mistakes that people really thought were good ideas.

Sometimes they'll have live music orchestras or live performances to go along with it.


Deal Addict
Jul 14, 2010
2201 posts
273 upvotes
EA's conference was exactly what everyone expected.

EA: "DO YOU LIKE TO SPORT?!?!?"
Audience: "No."
EA:"SPOOOOOOOORTS..... and mobile."
Audience: "Ugh."
Deal Fanatic
Oct 23, 2004
6315 posts
2382 upvotes
Toronto
Anthem looks like certified garbage. How many samey bullet sponge looter shooters do we really need? Can't believe Mass Effect died for this uninspired trend following trash.
Deal Addict
User avatar
Aug 25, 2007
1481 posts
403 upvotes
That was pretty weak. Anthem could be decent but doubt it. Hopefully BF Battle Royale is decent. Let's seen which AAA dev makes the best BR mode.
Deal Addict
May 9, 2007
1118 posts
302 upvotes
Why did anyone think Anthem was going to be good? It's basically trying to be a Destiny clone.

Looking forward to the Microsoft conference tomorrow and watch them fail when they announce that Crackdown 3 is getting delayed again! loll
Deal Addict
Jul 14, 2010
2201 posts
273 upvotes
Rumor is that CDPR is going to show Cyberpunk 2077 at Microsoft's conference. So it can't be that bad.
Deal Addict
May 9, 2007
1118 posts
302 upvotes
Ascott wrote:
Jun 9th, 2018 5:23 pm
Rumor is that CDPR is going to show Cyberpunk 2077 at Microsoft's conference. So it can't be that bad.
Of course that's all Microsoft has at this point is 3rd party games. At least they do seem to have a good relationship with CDPR. The Witcher 2 even to this day is only available on the Xbox platform.

Top