Home & Garden

Ecobee 3 (general discussion, tips & tricks)

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 1st, 2018 1:11 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
41802 posts
30057 upvotes
Center of Universe
jrees wrote: Hmmm. Is there a way to force a firmware update? I couldn't find one in mine.
You can send them an email to request the firmware be pushed to your device.
Deal Addict
Nov 10, 2012
2962 posts
2338 upvotes
Calgary
golden wrote: I heard that Ecobee3 doesn't do a good job controller whole house humidifier, is there any truth to it? I have yet to find anything online about it. Any comments? I'm upgrading to the fan based humidifier and debating if I can save money for the manual model vs the automatic model since I have Ecobee3 that's suppose to do the work. The installer told me that Ecobee is not as good as the auto model (which has an auto module to control the humidifier).
I’m not an expert but I hooked my humidifier up to my ecobee 3 and I believe it’s working fine. Have had it for 2 winters now and each year by the end of winter the humidifier filter is covered with minerals etc from the water running through it so I assume it is working well.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 9, 2012
6963 posts
6079 upvotes
Oakville, ON
vkizzle wrote: You can send them an email to request the firmware be pushed to your device.
You can also use their online chat to request it. Did it just now and they pushed it out right away.

Just need to check in 15-20 minutes or so to confirm it downloaded & rebooted etc.
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
41802 posts
30057 upvotes
Center of Universe
CanadianLurker wrote: You can also use their online chat to request it. Did it just now and they pushed it out right away.

Just need to check in 15-20 minutes or so to confirm it downloaded & rebooted etc.
Not sure why they didn't roll it out to everyone?
I can't find a change log either.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 9, 2012
6963 posts
6079 upvotes
Oakville, ON
vkizzle wrote: Not sure why they didn't roll it out to everyone?