Careers

EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 11th, 2024 9:29 pm
Mar 3, 2013
4 posts
Hi, I'm new to this...do i need to keep a kind of log, proof/record that i'm actively looking for work? doing my best daily to find a job but not sure how i'd document such a thing. thanks in advance
Sep 21, 2004
11413 posts
7186 upvotes
Calgary
bmxforlife wrote: Hi, I'm new to this...do i need to keep a kind of log, proof/record that i'm actively looking for work? doing my best daily to find a job but not sure how i'd document such a thing. thanks in advance
excel sheet or word file should do it.
Deal Guru
Nov 21, 2011
11402 posts
5239 upvotes
Quitfire wrote: just wondering if death in the family would make a difference in their decision.
You still need to exhaust alternatives and not just flat out quit.
Deal Guru
Nov 21, 2011
11402 posts
5239 upvotes
Premium wrote: I am asking on behalf of my aunt so please bare with me. She is ending her contract on the end of March 30 (last of the week). Her last payment cheque will be on April 3rd. Shall she contact CRA for EI on the next following business day which is April 1st or the next day after the last cheque payment?

She works for an agency as a contractor and how would she approach to ask her agency for ROE (EI)? She told me that she is worried the agency may supply her with other jobs and deny her entry for EI. Thus, making her to work longer for the agency. If she declines, it would affect her since CRA will ask on the status from the employer. Btw, I forgot to state that it's her first time to collect EI.
The ROE should come from the employer not the agency. Correct me if I'm wrong, but she's not working for the agency, the agency simply finds her work. Their role is to recruit for companies that contract out recruitment services.