Careers

EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 15th, 2019 3:45 pm
May 10, 2009
182 posts
31 upvotes
Hello and thanks for this great thread!

Here is my question. I am currently on EI and my Claim ends in the beginning of October. I will be going out of the country at the beginning of August and will not be returning for a good 5 months. When I return to Canada, am I able to reactivate my claim somehow and receive EI benefits for those 2 months that I missed?
[OP]
Sep 21, 2004
9840 posts
3789 upvotes
Calgary
contprof wrote:
Apr 30th, 2013 11:22 pm
Good evening,

This is my second run with Canada's EI system and needless to say I find it terribly confusing - still! I applied as soon as my contract ended; ROEs are all electronic and were at Service Canada the day my contract ended.

I am a university lecturer who currently works on contracts, and I know my position and contracts fall under regular benefits. During my current qualifying period I have accumulated 637 hours of insurable earnings and I know that this exceeds the rate of unemployment/ insurable hours required for regular benefits. So this part I understand well.

This time however, my issue is comprehending the labour force attachment period (LFA). I was on a research assignment between Jan 2012 and Aug 2012 that was covered through a grant and was not eligible as an insured earning - this I know as a fact. Prior to that (Sep 2012 - Dec 2012) I taught several courses and accumulated 450 hours of insurable earnings.

Therefore, this gave me 450 hours during the LFA which falls below the 490 hours required. However, I also received 22 weeks of regular EI benefits during the LFA period, would the EI system include those weeks as 'hours' during the LFA? I have scoured the EI act and cannot wrap my brain around the LFA/ reentrant section.

Just to be clear:
-637 hours for current qualifying period (needed 630 for regional rate) (Sep 2012-Apr 2013)
-Research (Jan 2012-Aug 2012)