Page 297 of 850

Re: EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

Posted: Aug 12th, 2013 9:07 am
by CanadianGurl78
Hello,

I've recently applied for Maternity EI, and have used the online application form. I'm a Canadian resident, but have relocated to the UK to be with the baby's father, and to give birth here in the UK to ensure baby has duel citizenship. Prior to leaving Canada I had called Services Canada and told them about my situation and they told me that as long as I have the required hours of work, that I would be able to claim my Canadian maternity while in the UK. Unfortunately, there wasn't enough room to add this additional information on my EI form. I have more than the needed hours, and the salary I was paid in the 52 weeks prior to leaving my job was more than the max I could claim for. I left my job at the beginning of May to leave for the UK, and the baby is due at the end of September (eligible for EI as of Aug. 5th). I've tried calling the Out of Canada Claims Centre and have left two messages, but no one is getting back to me. I've created my online account to try and track my application, but it just states that it's being reviewed (applied July 26th).

Is there any reason why I would be turned down at this point, and how long does it take to find out if your application has been approved? Will Services Canada let me know, or will money just show up in my account? I still have a permanent residence in Canada.

Posted: Aug 12th, 2013 10:07 am
by invisible123
Hello , I have one more question. What is recall to job procedure in Ontario after being laid off? Should I receive recall to work letter or some agreement ?Can they recall me to work by e-mail or phone? thank you..

Posted: Aug 12th, 2013 1:14 pm
by jumbo463
Hi OP,