• Jun 22nd, 2019 9:46 am
[OP]
Sep 21, 2004
9745 posts
3591 upvotes
Calgary
destroyer2000 wrote:
Apr 10th, 2012 9:55 pm
I have been working for 2 years on a government contract. They cannot renew my full time contract. Can I go on EI and work part time or will I not be eligible as I havent received an ROE

You need to have interruption of earnings (7 days of no work and no pay) to apply. If you worked full time until the end of March, and immediately started working part time hours beginning of April, then you won't be eligible to apply.
[OP]
Sep 21, 2004
9745 posts
3591 upvotes
Calgary
Manatus wrote:
Apr 11th, 2012 12:01 am
What happens if you do not apply for EI immediately after losing your job? E.g. if you apply 1 month after your last pay, do you still have to wait another 2 weeks waiting period? Do you get retroactive EI for the 2 weeks after the waiting period that you would have received if you applied right away?

If you apply within 28 days of losing your job, your claim will start the week immediately after you lost the job. If it's over 28 days, your claim will start on the week when you file the application. Everyone has to serve the 2 week waiting period.
Oct 10, 2011
396 posts
69 upvotes
WINNIPEG
b166er1337 wrote:
Apr 11th, 2012 12:38 am
1) Yes, whenever you reactivate your claim and there are contentious issues on file, they will have to be adjudicated.
2) Your claim will be automatically reactivated, but they could easily slap Disqualification or Disentitlement on file which will make your claim unpayable.

Thanks for the 411 again, YOU RULE!
Deal Addict
Mar 21, 2010
4467 posts
1292 upvotes
Toronto
b166er1337 wrote:
Apr 11th, 2012 12:45 am
If you apply within 28 days of losing your job, your claim will start the week immediately after you lost the job. If it's over 28 days, your claim will start on the week when you file the application. Everyone has to serve the 2 week waiting period.