Careers

EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 20th, 2019 8:20 pm
Apr 25, 2012
1 posts
NORTH YORK
Hi I was wondering if anyone has any insight on my following enquiry. I am a Professional golfer and I work at a Golf Club during the summer time. It is a seasonal job and I therefore am laid off every fall and hired back every spring. I've never applied for EI in the past as I have been able to find other work over the winter time but next winter I am planning on going down south and enter some Golf Tournaments. I know that I am leaving the country but am I still eligible for EI because I am willing and trying to make money through tournament earnings? Or does this not work since i would be looking for work in a different country?? Any insight on this would be appreciated.
Mar 28, 2012
6 posts
SCARBOROUGH
b166er1337 wrote:
Apr 7th, 2012 6:45 pm
If you are in dire need, go to your local Service Canada centre and tell them so. You'll need to fill out a form. If it's deemed true dire need, then your claim will be expedited.

You will get payment within 2 business days if your claim is approved. OSAP is not employment related so it won't affect your benefit rate.

Hello
Finally I started receiving my EI benefits last week, they took two weeks as a waiting period and two more weeks to deduct all my earnings during this period (vacation pay and part time job).
By the way, they did not give me any form to fill out because they need at least one month of waiting.
Now I am waiting for another decision by Mai 8; it might be regarding my part time ROE, I think they already got it.
My questions are:
• Will the upcoming decision reduce my benefits or not? I mean based on my part time ROE
• The EI call centre representative told me if I start a full time course and applying for the OSAP, they will suspend all my EI benefits; is that true?
Thanks and have a nice day.

My numbers:
Total Weeks of Regular Entitlement: 42
Allowable Earnings: $110