Careers

EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 11th, 2024 9:29 pm
Deal Addict
Apr 4, 2006
3676 posts
403 upvotes
b166er1337 wrote: 35 weeks for parental, 15 weeks for maternity. Since you are male the max you get is 35 weeks. :lol:
yes my mistake max is 35 not 15
Deal Expert
Mar 22, 2004
16011 posts
7474 upvotes
RFD
So I worked on contract between Dec 13, 2010 until June 8, 2012. Am I eligible for EI since I was on contract work and it didn't get renewed? How long will it last and how much does EI provide?

First time real job out of college, so I'm new to EI and things like this. I know my pay statement has deductions for EI so I should be able to get something....
Sep 21, 2004
11412 posts
7182 upvotes
Calgary
radeonboy wrote: So I worked on contract between Dec 13, 2010 until June 8, 2012. Am I eligible for EI since I was on contract work and it didn't get renewed? How long will it last and how much does EI provide?

First time real job out of college, so I'm new to EI and things like this. I know my pay statement has deductions for EI so I should be able to get something....
So have you received the ROE? You should file the application online ASAP regardless whether you have ROE on hand.
Jun 27, 2012
1 posts
CALGARY
Hey guys.

So i tried to apply for EI just recently and i got a letter saying that i was declined because I quit. I however did not quit, i was fired.

When i went in to work that day i came, ready for the day of work. had my coveralls on and was ready to go. I went to go look at what job i was doing when i saw that i had no job assigned to my name. The foreman and 2 other people were there and the foreman claimed that i did not want to work there anymore and effectively told me to leave.

I left my workplace under the obvious impression that i was fired.