Careers

EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 6th, 2019 7:37 am
Sep 22, 2014
1 posts
Shea Heights, NL
Hi
I have a question maybe you can help me with. I have been working full time for 18 years as a pharmacist with no breaks in employment. This year I have decided to build my own pharmacy and get into self employment via small retail pharmacy/medical clinic. I am still employed with my current employer and as the new building is beginning to take shape, people are talking and the news of this new pharmacy/medical clinic is spreading. My current employer has caught wind of this and I expect I will have to quit or be fired very soon because the business I am developing will be in direct competition with my current employer. What I'm wondering is this...will I be eligible to receive E.I. benefits for the next 4 months if I have to quit or I am fired while the new business is being developed?
Sep 21, 2014
17 posts
Carlyle, SK
Wilmega - Yes, I have completed two reports now and both times I reported that I was available.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 21, 2011
8718 posts
1557 upvotes
Edmonton
jj2215 wrote:
Sep 23rd, 2014 2:35 pm
Wilmega - Yes, I have completed two reports now and both times I reported that I was available.
You only got a week because you had waiting period earnings. They need to top up your final week of work with a portion of your payout, then the balance goes to the next 2 weeks. The week of the 7 to 13th was the second week of your waiting period, but you had waiting period earnings in it. These monies need to be removed from the next report.... Resulting in only one week of payment
Deal Fanatic
Nov 21, 2011
8718 posts
1557 upvotes
Edmonton
RAVEN2014 wrote:
Sep 23rd, 2014 2:33 pm