Careers

EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 7th, 2020 4:00 pm
Nov 13, 2011
41 posts
13 upvotes
BURNABY
swordth wrote: I've been working for 3 years. My common-law partner wants to move back to our hometown, after we moved here 3 years ago for this job.
Reason #17 for just-cause leaving in EI talks about an obligation to accompany a spouse, and I was wondering if I could use that to get EI?

I've been trying to find work in my hometown for a while now, but interviews are tough to get. Employers don't want to make accommodations to hire someone from out-of-town (interviews are tough to schedule, it takes me $200 and 8 hours roundtrip to go there, I need time to move there if I'm hired, etc).

What kind of proof do I need to provide EI with to show that I tried to find reasonable alternatives?
What type of process do I go through?
What are the odds that EI will deny the claim?

Thanks
Anyone have any ideas? The alternative is also claiming an unsafe workplace - which wouldn't be false either. Just yesterday the CEO was setting a great example by swinging chainsaw at a tree, unguarded, inside the bucket of a backhoe 20feet in the air.
Dec 3, 2015
24 posts
4 upvotes
London, ON
Tulips2 wrote: Thanks for the info. I call in and tell them that I can't come to work (it is one day at the time, once or twice a month), but I don't say that I am sick because I would be asked for a doctor's note. I say that it's for a matter that I can't disclose. On another occasion I did suggest how to make up the hours but the idea was rejected. I got a write up for the absence without providing a valid reason.
Unfortunately any adjudicator who gets wind of this will destroy you.
Dec 3, 2015
24 posts
4 upvotes
London, ON