• Last Updated:
  • Jul 23rd, 2017 11:47 pm
Mar 21, 2013
381 posts
133 upvotes
EDMONTON
BiegeToyota wrote:
Apr 16th, 2017 1:25 am
Why wouldn't you be eligible for ei? You are not self employed.
On the real estate side I am a self-employed independent contractor, almost all residential realtors are.
Deal Addict
Nov 24, 2013
3902 posts
1021 upvotes
Kingston, ON
You'd still theoretically be eligible for EI Parental Leave or (unless you have Short Term Disability through work benefits) EI Sickness. It does cover more than unemployment benefits, technically.

Even if you never do use it, at least the insurance is only ~$900 a year and not thousands anyway.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 19, 2004
7110 posts
894 upvotes
Cambridge, ON
You can't opt out if you are an employee. If you are self employed, then you can opt out on those earnings.
Deal Addict
Mar 23, 2008
3535 posts
1439 upvotes
Edmonton
BiegeToyota wrote:
Apr 16th, 2017 1:25 am
Why wouldn't you be eligible for ei? You are not self employed.
Because his self employment income means he'd never collect.

OP, the fact is that you COULD still collect EI if both your jobs stop producing income. The fact that you don't think your real estate job will stop producing income is beside the point.

So I think you're SOL.

C
Deal Fanatic
Nov 21, 2011
7657 posts
1215 upvotes
Edmonton
You're not qualifying for regular benefits unless your license is revoked, suspended or surrendered. You'll be deemed to be self employed since you control your hours of work and have a contract for service. It makes zero difference if you do it at night.

Even if that weren't the case, your earnings from realty would negate any benefits from EI.

As long as you're working in insurable employment you're going to pay into EI.
Apr 16, 2017
1 posts
Good morning! Thanks for answering all of these questions! I was hoping you could answer mine.
I have a situation where I can't work because I have a foot injury. Here's the situation.