Careers

EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 19th, 2019 6:50 pm
Banned
Sep 7, 2012
25 posts
1 upvote
b166er1337, Another question for you :P. So my dad recently had surgery and the EI coverage 15 is for weeks.If he doesn't recover could he get more weeks? If he can how much?

Thanks a lot i really appreciate it.
Deal Addict
Apr 4, 2006
3597 posts
238 upvotes
Diablo3rocks wrote:
Sep 17th, 2012 1:34 am
b166er1337, Another question for you :P. So my dad recently had surgery and the EI coverage 15 is for weeks.If he doesn't recover could he get more weeks? If he can how much?

nope 15 max, if still not recover apply for long term disability
Sep 16, 2012
2 posts
BARRIE
I have been working at the same place for 7 yrs.
i am on ei sick leave until November 11th
Recently found out there is going to be a layoff in early January.
my question is will i be able to claim ei during the lay off after only being back at work for two months.
I will have been off for 11 weeks claiming sick benefits.
thank you
Deal Addict
Apr 4, 2006
3597 posts
238 upvotes
barriecool wrote:
Sep 17th, 2012 9:44 am
I have been working at the same place for 7 yrs.
i am on ei sick leave until November 11th
Recently found out there is going to be a layoff in early January.
my question is will i be able to claim ei during the lay off after only being back at work for two months.
I will have been off for 11 weeks claiming sick benefits.
thank you
if u dont get enough hours between when u go back and your layoff date, you can reactivate your existing claim and convert the claim to regular benefits. You will only be able to collect regular benefits until your claim is open for 1 year, or u run out of eligible weeks, depending on the number of hours u have
Sep 16, 2012
2 posts
BARRIE
Thanks.
so once i switch from sickness benefits to regular benefits ,
do i only receive ei for however many weeks of sickness benefits i had left before converting