Careers

EI (Employment Insurance) discussion thread

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 18th, 2017 9:40 am
May 12, 2017
1 posts
Hi, it looks like I applied for EI too early, and need some advice, so that my claim doesn't get disqualified. It's my first time applying. After reading this forum I realized I had not waited 7 consecutive days without work/pay before I applied. I applied on May 4, 2017. It was approved this week.

I finished "Job A" on April 11, 2017. Job A gave me enough insurable hours. Claim is April 16, 2017-April 14, 2019; with 30 weeks of regular entitlement.

I worked a temporary job "Job B" from April 9, 2017-May 9, 2017. I did not include this job in my EI application, since it would not let me add a job with an end date later than May 4th (date of EI application).

During the 4 weeks of Job B, 2 of the weeks were under 35 hours (i.e. some benefits would be paid) and 2 of the weeks were over 35 hours (i.e. $0 benefit would be paid).

For Job B: May 9 = last day for which paid. May 15 = date of 2nd to last paycheque. May 30 = date of last paycheque (final pay period end date).

Also, I worked 2 days at "Job C" (April 26 and 27). This was a one-off assembling sandwiches for a catering company that needed a few extra people for a few days to fill an exceptionally large order. I've requested an ROE from them; they said they'll process it on Monday. I asked them to mark the ROE “A – shortage work/end of contract or season”

***I have not submitted any earnings reports nor received any payments.

My questions are:
What do I need to do next –
1) should I submit the reports for April 16-23rd – even though I did not yet have 7 consecutive days without work?
2) Or do I not do anything (like, let the claim lapse) and then reapply?
3) Would I reapply 7 days after May 9th (last day for which paid)? Or 7 days after May 15th (next paycheque) Or 7 days after May 30 (final pay period ending date)?