Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Mar 7, 2004
2189 posts
61 upvotes
Calgary

Entry level Programmer Salary **UPDATE**

I'm a new graduate in computer science and I was wondering what is a fair salary for a computer programmer?

kaddy69
MY HEATWARE - Available upon request
MY EBAY - Available upon request
100 replies
Deal Addict
Apr 10, 2002
2350 posts
876 upvotes
Central Ontario
I would guess between $40k - $50k for a BSc grad and less for a college grad.
Oct 21, 2004
543 posts
94 upvotes
JustMike wrote:I would guess between $40k - $50k for a BSc grad and less for a college grad.
pretty much on the money for most Canadian companies. Microsoft, Sun, [rfdlink=/forums/autolink/redirectpage.php?linkid=17]Amazon[/rfdlink] etc pay almost 1.5-2 times that but then again you have to fit their standards as well. Most of my buddies are making around high forties to low fifties mark doing some form of programming.

kaddy69, you should ask your career resource dept as well. earlier this year when we were applying for jobs, we pretty much knew the salaries or at least the range offered by most companies. so should you. if not, make an effort to find out. will make the process much smoother for you.
Deal Addict
Mar 7, 2004
2189 posts
61 upvotes
Calgary
I do have a job offer in Calgary, but I do not know the salary that I will getting yet. I just wanted an idea. I'm hoping it's at least over $40,000!

kaddy69
Deal Addict
Aug 13, 2002
3307 posts
26 upvotes
If they are giving you a job OFFER, then ask them, negotiate if you have to.
Deal Addict
Apr 10, 2002
2350 posts
876 upvotes
Central Ontario
A formal job offer has to include the salary amount.
Aug 12, 2004
386 posts
7 upvotes
Calgary