Personal Finance

Equifax keeps messing up - legal action?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 4th, 2014 1:49 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Apr 15, 2012
3 posts

Equifax keeps messing up - legal action?

So me and my dad have the same first and last name. There are some main differences between us for starters he was born in 1964 and I was born in 1992. Secondly he makes about 50k more then me a year and has an awesome credit rating and my credit rating is not the best as I let it fall while I was a student.

Four years ago when I was just 17 I was applying for a Student Line of Credit with my bank (TD CANADA TRUST) when we discovered that Equifax had essentially combined me and my dad as one person. This had given me at 17 an approved credit rating for over a 300k mortgage. I was 17 you cant even have credit in canada at that age. Regardless the bank called equifax and after a few days the issue was resolved.

Now fast forward to four years later, today im 21. I have tried to apply for a credit card to help rebuild my credit and I cant because they have combined us again so I have to answer questions about loans and credit cards I dont have. I furious now sure I could call them again and in 1-11 buisness days they will have it fixed and what not. But what happens down the road when I need something fast and they have combined us again.

Do you think I have an legal grounds to take action here?
16 replies
Banned
Jul 16, 2003
10398 posts
1464 upvotes
Toronto
Equifax only uses the date that is sent to them, to determine credit worthiness. If a financial institution sends the wrong data, Equifax does not know how accurate that is.

For example, if Im meeting someone today and pulling a credit bureau, and in his application the client said he is the owner of Microsoft, the moment I hit the "request credit bureau" the information in my application is sent to Equifax, and the next person checking this client's credit will see "Owner - Microsoft".
Andre Oliveira - Mortgage Agent