Automotive

Expected dealer discounts on a used 2017 Hyundai Elantra GL models (CPO and non-CPO)? + other useful info

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 23rd, 2018 11:05 am
[OP]
Jan 9, 2009
5 posts
3 upvotes
Toronto

Expected dealer discounts on a used 2017 Hyundai Elantra GL models (CPO and non-CPO)? + other useful info

I am a die-hard RFD'er who has gained great wisdom over the years by reading through endless RFD forum postings - a big thank you to everyone.

Over the last few weeks I've gone all-out and done in-depth research into buying a used or new car: Toyota Yaris iA Sedan, Hyundai Accent Sedan, Mazda3, Toyota Corolla Sedan, Honda Civic Sedan, Kia Rio Sedan, Kia Forte and Hyundai Elentra GL. I have over 1200 lines of extensive technical notes written from the perspective of an engineer who can be overly critical when purchasing a car :-)

I've scoured the RFD automotive forum and have come up empty on the following questions. I am not asking these questions from a complete newbie standpoint. I'd be really interested in having an open discussion about this on the RFD so that others in the future may learn from my current experiences.

After all of my research I've settled on purchasing a used 2017 Hyundai Elantra GL (not GS) under 20,000km (a Toyota Yaris iA Sedan was my #1 pick but they are just impossible to find used in Ontario). I reviewed a hundred used car postings and those lead to my questions:

- Almost everyone lists them for $16995 under 20,000km or thereabouts (and many or all are off-lease and daily rental cars, some uncertified). The least costly asking prices are $15995. The Black Book trade-in value is $12770 to $14320, avg trade-in $13545 (with suggested resell at $15495). A brand new 2017 based on MSRP and not CarCostCanada dealer invoice cost is $18 783:

$20 349 base price
- $3000 discount
- $411 dealer discount
+ $1845 fees (freight & government)
Total before tax = $18783