They aren't 'real' but they aren't fake either since Rogers allows them to use their branding.
-
Feb 7th, 2012 06:47 PM #1
Fake Rogers wireless store.
Does this look like a Rogers corporate store to you because it does to me.

When you call them they pick us and say Rogers Wireless. But here is the problem they don't sell for the same price as a Rogers corporate store would. I tried to buy a Nokia Lumia 710 from them and they wanted $379. Rogers and other stores sell it for $255 (finally got one from Costco). I wonder how many people get suckered into thinking it's an Actual Rogers store. The real name of the store is digital communications and the only place you can see the name is one there business license posted on the back wall. This reminds me of the face apple stores in China that looked like Apple stores sold apple product but were not owned my Apple.
Website
http://www.digitalcommunications.ca/
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked Manic1! for this post.
-
Sponsored Links - Join the RedFlagDeals.com community and remove this ad.
-
Feb 7th, 2012 07:01 PM #2_______________
Things I've won: iPhone4, Samsung Galaxy Tab, Tivo Series2, VTech DECT6.0 3-handset phone, Panasonic Vancouver Olympics 2010 DMC ZR1, iPod Nano, iPod Touch, Wilson Driver, One night/dinner @DeltaChelsea, $100 SportsExperts GC, $200 FutureShop GC, SIRIUS Satellite radio, Sherwood hockey stick, Yoplait backpack/lunch kit, $25 Amazon GC, $200 Rockport GC, Henkel knife set, Telescope, DVD player, $50 Cineplex GC.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked ceredon for this post.
-
Feb 7th, 2012 07:57 PM #3
There's a big difference between "fake" and "authorized dealer". You can tell from the store finder on the Rogers site if the location is a dealer or a Rogers Plus. No one is hiding anything.
Bell does the same thing.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked D_J_M for this post.
-
Feb 8th, 2012 03:18 AM #4
Futureshop is an Authorized Apple reseller but they don't call themselves the Apple store. If they were the same price as an actual Rogers store it would not be a problem but when they are selling the same product for $125 more it's a problem.
It seems like it's no different than this: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/...rticle2106133/
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked Manic1! for this post.
-
Feb 8th, 2012 03:30 AM #5_______________
Need Hardwood Flooring/Floors done? (PM/CLICK ME!) (GTA)!
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked Jimboski for this post.
-
Feb 8th, 2012 04:44 AM #6
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked packardbell for this post.
-
Feb 8th, 2012 04:53 AM #7
^ Hahahah that photo bomb of the store name!
_______________
Need Hardwood Flooring/Floors done? (PM/CLICK ME!) (GTA)!
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked Jimboski for this post.
-
Feb 8th, 2012 07:08 AM #8
It goes beyond simply being an authorized reseller. They allow them to completely ape the look and branding of a Rogers store. There is no obvious way that you know it is not a Rogers store when you walk in unless you are the type of person that typically enters a store and looks for the corporate info posted on small signs on the wall or you walk into a store and then immediately check the Rogers website. No one does either.
But, it cannot be called fake, since Rogers allows them to do it (for a fee).
Totally different. Those stores are copying Apple without permission. Rogers sells the rights and allows it. Both result in customer confusion, but one is legally kosher and the other is not._______________
Things I've won: iPhone4, Samsung Galaxy Tab, Tivo Series2, VTech DECT6.0 3-handset phone, Panasonic Vancouver Olympics 2010 DMC ZR1, iPod Nano, iPod Touch, Wilson Driver, One night/dinner @DeltaChelsea, $100 SportsExperts GC, $200 FutureShop GC, SIRIUS Satellite radio, Sherwood hockey stick, Yoplait backpack/lunch kit, $25 Amazon GC, $200 Rockport GC, Henkel knife set, Telescope, DVD player, $50 Cineplex GC.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked ceredon for this post.
-
Feb 8th, 2012 07:17 AM #9
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked hi-tech for this post.
-
Feb 8th, 2012 07:53 AM #10
Never said it was a franchise. I was told by a store manager once that they pay in order to use the Rogers branding as a way to differentiate themselves from other authorized dealers. They can only use it with permission and Rogers isn't about to let their copyrighted and protected branding go for free. But I don't work there, so may they do use it for free.
_______________
Things I've won: iPhone4, Samsung Galaxy Tab, Tivo Series2, VTech DECT6.0 3-handset phone, Panasonic Vancouver Olympics 2010 DMC ZR1, iPod Nano, iPod Touch, Wilson Driver, One night/dinner @DeltaChelsea, $100 SportsExperts GC, $200 FutureShop GC, SIRIUS Satellite radio, Sherwood hockey stick, Yoplait backpack/lunch kit, $25 Amazon GC, $200 Rockport GC, Henkel knife set, Telescope, DVD player, $50 Cineplex GC.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked ceredon for this post.
-
Feb 8th, 2012 12:32 PM #11
Wouldn't the best way be to call Rogers Corporate and ask about it? They're clearly harming the Rogers image by deceiving/confusing consumers and not giving Rogers money but probably taking money from Rogers (like other authorized retailers) from selling phone plans.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked antaholics for this post.
Search Forums



