Automotive

At fault Accident, Other driver has no insurance.

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 20th, 2018 11:38 am
Tags:
Mar 29, 2015
64 posts
25 upvotes
Ottawa, ON
Last time I was applying for insurance they asked for photos of the car to verify the condition. I don't know if that was because I'm a relatively new driver or that the car was 20 years old. Might be hard to insure a car after an accident if they have to show photos as well.
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2009
3880 posts
1607 upvotes
Ottawa, ON
jechin1 wrote:
Jan 12th, 2018 11:35 am
Last time I was applying for insurance they asked for photos of the car to verify the condition. I don't know if that was because I'm a relatively new driver or that the car was 20 years old. Might be hard to insure a car after an accident if they have to show photos as well.
I have never been asked for anything of the sort.
Deal Addict
Nov 28, 2007
1124 posts
192 upvotes
You guys are goofs, buddy driving with no insurance is a good chunk of the reason we all pay so much for insurance. You should report it, and then the police will fine him $5000. No one says you need to go through insurance, but he should be turned in. They estimate upwards of 1 million drivers in Ontario have no insurance at times during the any given year. Do you think buddy is going to stop and leave his info when he sideswipes your car parked on the street???

Again this is not the moral answer, it is the logical answer. Report it, no one is going to lay a charge on you, and you can avoid going through insurance if you want.
Deal Addict
Nov 28, 2007
1124 posts
192 upvotes
marktang wrote:
Jan 12th, 2018 8:58 am
you have to report within 24 hours. So it's already too late.
It is never too late, just you could get a ticket for reporting late, although I have never seen that happen....
Deal Addict
Nov 28, 2007
1124 posts
192 upvotes
absolut123 wrote:
Jan 12th, 2018 10:38 am