• Last Updated:
  • May 19th, 2017 6:12 pm
[OP]
Oct 6, 2014
898 posts
32 upvotes
Toronto, ON

At fault. First time forgiveness insurance

I encountered a minor accident this morning, and I am at fault.

This is my first time, and my insurance policy offers first time accident forgiveness

I am wondering if there is any catch down the road?

I am with Chieftain Insurance

Thanks.
27 replies
Deal Expert
Jul 30, 2007
17611 posts
3314 upvotes
Toronto
if you have this coverage and you pay the premium for it, then this is your "get out of jail" card. You should not see any hefty premium increase next renewal.
Dec 16, 2008
420 posts
82 upvotes
Richmond Hill
As long as you stay with your current provider.
Deal Expert
Mar 25, 2005
20702 posts
1767 upvotes
1. If you change insurers within the next 6 years, expect to be rated for the accident.
2. If you are at fault again within the next 6 years, expect to be rated for both.
Deal Addict
Apr 18, 2009
3049 posts
555 upvotes
Toronto
kooroshkabir wrote:
Mar 22nd, 2017 3:57 pm
As long as you stay with your current provider.
^this

your accident record will still be visible to other insurers if you choose to change insurance companies. so while you premium wont increase with your current provider because of this accident, the "catch" will be that you are pretty much locked to them for the next 6+ years since the other companies will give you a hard time if they see your accident record and use that an excuse to jack up your premium.

if you are the type of person who likes to switch providers every year at renewal (to get the lowest rates the market offers), you will likely not have that liberty anymore.

also, the other "catch" that i am aware of is that i believe you still have to continue to pay that "accident forgiveness" portion of your premium with your current provider even after you had your accident. again i am not 100% sure and i can be wrong on this, better check on your policy first. i believe this is the case with mine.