Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Feb 13, 2007
1169 posts
95 upvotes

Favourite Calibration System?

I'm heading down to the States in a few weeks, and plan to take a look at various pieces of equipment while I'm there. Among those could be monitor calibration equipment, since it's consistently MUCH cheaper across the border than up here.

I'm a hobbyist who spends a fair bit of time adjusting photos after I transfer them, and while calibration hasn't been a HUGE issue (as I rarely print anything, but that might change), I do notice some differences between monitors, and I'd like to know what I'm doing is at least accurately represented, especially after sifting through thousands of trip/event pics.

I'm wondering what people here prefer and reccomend. Syder3? Eye-One? Colormunki? Huey?

If it has any bearing, most of my editing is done on a Dell 2709w monitor.
5 replies
Deal Guru
Dec 3, 2004
10943 posts
419 upvotes
Markham/Mississauga
I personally use the Spyder calibrations from Data Color.

I used the Spyder2Express in the beginning, then moved up to a Spider3Pro.

This page will give you a comparison between all of the models:

http://spyder.datacolor.com/s3compare.php

For what I do, the Spyder3Pro is fine as I am only beginning to break into commercial studio photography - where the Spyder3Elite shines in as it has more calibration options for such a thing.

For a hobbyist with a single monitor then Spyder2Express is just fine for what you're doing.

You won't be disappointed, going from a non-calibrated screen to a calibrated screen is like night and day.
Apr 20, 2005
460 posts
26 upvotes
I sw the Spyder3Pro on Amazon for $140US.

Sweet deal... might look into that.
Deal Addict
Feb 16, 2006
3803 posts
982 upvotes
Vancouver
I use a Spyder2 PRO but if I was going to buy another calibrator right now I'd buy the Xrite i1 D2.

http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx?ID=788