None
[OP]
Deal Guru
Sep 10, 2009
10900 posts
398 upvotes
GT&A

Fee for copy of blood/urine exam results

Is it legal for a clinic office to charge you for a copy of a urine or blood exam results? Considering it was all done under OHIP and the doctor is being paid his fees accordingly.

Some clinics charge $5, others $1.
troll: someone you dislike, fear or do not comprehend...
11b guide
When the doorbell rings, it's just a request. You are not a dog, it is not a command, only a request. You are not in church, you are at home. No guilt.
22 replies
Jul 5, 2004
23192 posts
2787 upvotes
Clinics can charge for copies of any of your files, yes. It's legal.
Deal Addict
Feb 28, 2011
3835 posts
60 upvotes
You called around to all clinics to see how much they charge?

Well at least you didn't drive to each one, that would have cost like $40.00 in gasoline, or two days on a transit system and $20.00

If it helps, and I am no expert on how hospitals, and things like that work. However, urine and blood samples might have to go to a laboratory where they have the proper facilities to do that sort of thing. I think I remember a lab existing in a medical building which housed several family doctors and clinics at one of the places I used to go to.

Perhaps the analysis service, is run independently of government?

Again, I am not 100% sure on it.
Listening to UkBassRadio NsbRadio ProtonRadio Tosi - TheCrypt

Oh... you must be a better internetter than everyone else. You get paid to be here.
Deal Addict
Aug 14, 2006
1145 posts
161 upvotes
GTA
The test itself is paid for by OHIP, but it's common practice for doctors/clinics to charge for hardcopies for you. I mean, some doctors even charge for doctors notes now.
Deal Addict
Feb 28, 2011
3835 posts
60 upvotes
Actually I never thought that maybe a "copy" is just a photocopy.

With the irreversible demise of print media, photo copies, and paper has gone up in price substantially