• Last Updated:
  • Jan 3rd, 2013 7:07 pm
Tags:
None
Jan 2, 2013
3 posts
NORTH YORK

Fido damaged my credit, what can I do?

I was paying for my little sister's phone and when she turned 21 she decided to pay for her own phone bill so we changed the account to be under her name. She had to give 3 pieces of i.d. and all that. When I was the account holder, I paid by pre-authorized credit card so money was automatically deducted every month. When she called to do the switch she told the man she wanted to pay off any leftover amount and was told that her balance was at zero (presumably because I had paid for everything). Two months later I get a call from Fido saying that I have an outstanding balance (I am with Rogers so I knew this could only be about my sister's phone). By the way, they ONLY called when I was at work and as a teacher I can't just pick up the phone whenever I want to so it took a week for them to finally reach me and they did not leave any messages. When I got the call (during my 15 minute recess) I told them I'd call back to settle it. I called, asked if my sister was paying all of her bills and why they were calling me when she was now the account holder. I was ready to pay off anything. They told me there was no outstanding balance anywhere. I asked them to double check everywhere and they assured me that whoever called must have made a mistake. I don't get called for another month.