• Last Updated:
  • Oct 30th, 2018 10:30 am
Tags:
[OP]
Aug 22, 2017
25 posts
3 upvotes

Filing SR&ED Claim yourself

I'm not exactly an entrepreneur, but I work as a Product Manager at a small company based in BC. For 2017 we went through an external consultant to file our SR&ED claim, and got it approved. This partner essentially was a 2-man team, but as the magnitude of our projects has grown and they show reluctance with filing certain things for us (e.g. software development) we feel they aren't not the best pick for us anymore going forward. We claimed $20K in 2017, and expect about $200K in eligible SR&ED expenditures for 2018+2019.

Does anyone here have any experience with SR&ED claims? Is it possible to do it yourself? I don't really know too much about what goes on behind the scenes but is it possible for me to learn this kind of stuff over the course of a few months? Looking at the rates most SR&ED consultants charge, doing it in-house could easily save us 10s of $K per year. We already supplied all the technical + financial documentation ourselves for the 2017 claim - we only received help with going from this documentation to SR&ED acceptance.
6 replies
Nov 12, 2014
446 posts
248 upvotes
Kingston, ON
You can but it's a heavily audited area so be prepared for that and you better know what you're doing lol
[OP]
Aug 22, 2017
25 posts
3 upvotes
QN5252 wrote:
Oct 26th, 2018 2:57 pm
You can but it's a heavily audited area so be prepared for that and you better know what you're doing lol
Yeah - from what the consultant told us, they usually audit 20% of the businesses each year, and eventually will audit everyone at least once. I do feel we're prepared for an audit - all product iterations we develop are datemarked and kept around. I Keep log files, any notes, meeting minutes, analytics data, etc. I feel audits are not really the responsibility of the consultant anyway...