• Nov 28th, 2007 10:51 am
Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Mar 28, 2004
4658 posts
567 upvotes

Finishing a basement myself?? Under 5k?

I've recently been thinking about finishing a basement room, not the entire basement but about 540 SF.

I got a few quotes with the lowest coming in at 5k to the highest for $8800 thus far.

The 5k quote included the following

Framing (2 walls require framing, 2 doors)
Drywall, Mud, Tape
Drop Ceiling
Trim
Electrical wiring
All materials and labor

The guy is good and knows what he is doing. We would need flooring on top of this which he does not do.

Then the $8800 quote included the same minus flooring so about 10k with flooring.

My question is, could I do better than the 5k by doing it myself and taking my time. I would have an electrician come in but I would do the framing, drywall, drop ceiling.

I'm a beginner so I'd really be taking my time to learn about doing this and do it right.

I don't think its a huge job or would be super hard.. 3 walls are already framed and insulated its essentially 2 walls that need framing..

Can I do better than the 5k quote all inclusive ??? I mean, it would be amazing do it it myself and do everything for 5k but I;m not sure its possible..
25 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 25, 2005
1136 posts
18 upvotes
Take everything you read with a grain of salt... but in my opinion, there is no better feeling than contributing to your house doing the work yourself... if you know what your doing that is.... :D
Deal Addict
Mar 28, 2004
4658 posts
567 upvotes
Dealz-4-U wrote: Take everything you read with a grain of salt... but in my opinion, there is no better feeling than contributing to your house doing the work yourself... if you know what your doing that is.... :D
Thanks. Well, I would be learning as I go along. I mean, I feel I could do it. But could I do it cheaper and as good?

Don't know. I already picked up a few books today and I've got a few skilled people who said they could help with things I don't really get..