Page 1 of 2

First Oil change for a new Honda

Posted: Aug 19th, 2010 2:37 pm
by gsaveit
Hey all,

I'v got a Honda Pilot that I bought last year. After ~8000km the oil now needs replacement. This oil which originally came with the car sustained a lot of km. Maybe it's just because the car is relatively new but my Honda civic needs oil change every ~3000km from walmart. I want to take care of the SUV and put quality oil in it but I'm not an expert in automotives. At the same time I want to avoid the dealer rip off. Is there a high quality brand of oil that will get me another 8000Km or more ?

For my case, is syntethic oil the way to go ? I practically have no clue about the pros/cons of the different classes of oil. Your insight would be helpful.

I would appreciate suggestions of any oil changing place, or is Walmart just fine ?

Lastly, could I buy the oil and take it Walmart or somewhere for changing ?

Thanks for any advise in what route to take

Re: First Oil change for a new Honda

Posted: Aug 19th, 2010 2:53 pm
by mehc
Follow the service instructions / type of oil of your vehicule's manual

Posted: Aug 19th, 2010 3:35 pm
by chickenbones
First point, taking care of your car and getting it serviced at wal-mart is an oxymoron.

Second, get the oil that meets the specs on your owner's manual and change the oil according to the owner's manual's specification.

You can find a reputable garage to change your oil. Dealership oil changes are not that expensive either.

Don't waste money on synthetic.
gsaveit wrote: Hey all,