Personal Finance

First Time HomeBuyer: Buy smaller unit then upsize vs. bigger unit then downsize

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 5th, 2015 12:11 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Oct 6, 2014
1315 posts
116 upvotes
Toronto, ON

First Time HomeBuyer: Buy smaller unit then upsize vs. bigger unit then downsize

For first time homebuyer, I am wondering if it's better to buy a smaller unit than upsize in a couple of years (which I think that's an approach a lot of people do) or would it be wise to buy a bigger unit (more than I can afford right now), sell it in a couple years and then downsize + make profit (so its treating it as an investment as well)

The reason I ask is because suppose the average townhouse in North GTA is now $500,000; with the increase in housing prices, I find it very very tough to buy a detached house in future. I have been monitoring for the past 24 months. Detached houses increased almost $80,000 past 24 months and they are now worth over $750,000 for a decent one (minimum).

So that got me thinking of buying a detached house now while it's still 'more affordable' (but reality, more than I can afford), then downsize in future, so that i will have an option of keeping the bigger house, or sell it in a couple years for profit AND have a townhouse to live in.

Looking for some input. Thanks.
5 replies
Banned
Jun 2, 2009
2738 posts
181 upvotes
Toronto
If you can afford detached then always buy detached. People typically don't have this issue because they can't afford it so they buy a townhouse out of necessity. If you're actually able to afford a detached house get it! Worry about downsizing later. Detached will always net you the most profit.
Idle hands are the devils playthings
Deal Addict
Jun 1, 2006
1047 posts
272 upvotes
Toronto