• Last Updated:
  • Jul 21st, 2017 3:50 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 28, 2005
1361 posts
58 upvotes

First time investor, looking at investing in index funds and opening a TFSA

It's my first time investing. I finished a few books that recommended index funds as the go to option. One book also recommended lifecyle funds. From what I gathered, I need to open either a RRSP account or a TFSA and then put money inside of their and then use that money to purchase index funds.

Questions:
1. Does it matter where I open a TFSA like at TD or RBC if there are certain index funds I am interested in investing in such as Vanguard or T.Rowe Price?
2. I heard there are minimum balances required like $3000 for Vanguard and $1000 for T.Rowe Price. I couldn't find this information on the Vanguard website
3. I noticed on the Vanguard Canada website, they are listing ETF index funds instead of regulard index funds. What is the difference and can I buy the regular index funds or is there an advantage between etf index funds vs regular index funds?
4. What about lifecycle funds, are those an even better option for those who want a hands off approach?

Sorry if there's questions have been asked before but I'm a complete newb to investing and it seems based on the vanguard's website that they don't discuss their products with individual investors. I'm hesitant to go book an appointment with a financial advisor at my local bank (TD and Tangerine) and suckered into some bullshit expensive fund.
26 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 23, 2007
3269 posts
1130 upvotes
wolf30 wrote:
Jul 16th, 2017 12:39 am
It's my first time investing. I finished a few books that recommended index funds as the go to option. One book also recommended lifecyle funds. From what I gathered, I need to open either a RRSP account or a TFSA and then put money inside of their and then use that money to purchase index funds.

Questions: