• Last Updated:
  • Mar 23rd, 2010 10:00 pm
Tags:
None
Aug 17, 2009
240 posts
5 upvotes

forgot to claim 1st 60 day '09 RRSP contribution to 2008 tax return

While i prepare to file my returns, I have just realized that the contributions that i made in the first 60 days of 2009, were never claimed on my 2008 return.

What is the best course of action under the given circumstances ? As this amount is ofcourse now a part of my 2009 income however was never claimed on a tax refund.

I am quite new to RRSP and file taxes myself using UFILE. so am not sure if this is a twisted issue, or would it be as simple as adding this amount to the over all RRSP deductions.

All suggestions are much appreciated :)

Thanks
12 replies
Deal Guru
Mar 23, 2009
11653 posts
1470 upvotes
Toronto
Two options:

1) Amend your 2008 tax return.
2) Claim it for 2009.

I'd just recommend option #2. It's the easiest option. The benefit of RRSP contributions in the 1st 60s days of the year is that you can claim it in the previous year, or the current year. So claiming it for 2009 is perfectly legal.
[OP]
Aug 17, 2009
240 posts
5 upvotes
EugW wrote:
Feb 2nd, 2010 1:47 am
Two options:

2) Claim it for 2009.

I'd just recommend option #2. It's the easiest option. The benefit of RRSP contributions in the 1st 60s days of the year is that you can claim it in the previous year, or the current year. So claiming it for 2009 is perfectly legal.

Wow, This is great information. So that would mean (if applicable) - I can claim all the RRSP contributed for 2009 from Jan.dec towards the 2009 return.

another quick question, given this condition, should i claim the RRSP that i have contributed in the first 2 months of 2010 towards 2009 return as well ?
Deal Addict
Oct 9, 2005
1787 posts
143 upvotes
inassod wrote:
Feb 2nd, 2010 2:00 am
Wow, This is great information. So that would mean (if applicable) - I can claim all the RRSP contributed for 2009 from Jan.dec towards the 2009 return.