Art and Photography

Friend wants to quit a good job, take out a student loan, and become a photographer

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 19th, 2012 9:10 pm
Tags:
None
Jan 31, 2004
947 posts
121 upvotes
Toronto
I say OP should not in the way of his dream... let him quit/spend 50k on photography course. 1 year from today, give us an update on his progression (i'm leaning towards epic failure from reading this thread)
Nov 25, 2005
142 posts
11 upvotes
I just had to reply to this. I am a full time professional photographer. I always find it odd that people think Joe Shmo with a basic camera is competition. Yes, indeed, the barriers to entry are low. And yes, indeed, even a basic camera can take a fantastic image. But what you are being paid for as a photographer is consistency, expertise, and quality. A commercial client who is spending thousands of dollars, doesn't want to be taking a "chance" on someone. They need to know that the person they are hiring is capable of providing results....ALL THE TIME. Not just a lucky shot here and there. Don't ever be deterred by the flock of amateurs, because that is not who clients are looking for.

Photography is one of two things, either a hobby, or a business. And if you want it to be a business, then it must be run just like any other business. You need sales savvy, customer service, marketing, etc. You have to be a bit of a jack of all trades. Can your friend do that? Take away the photography aspect completely. Does your friend have what it takes to RUN a small business? How is he with inter personal relationships? Is he punctual? Does he cope well with stress and deadlines? Can he manage? And then micro manage? These are all considerations he needs to take. It's not just about taking a pretty picture. He needs to sell and promote himself like any real business, because really, its all about networking.