Entrepreneurship & Small Business

Friendly website feedback request, promise no 90s wayback ;)

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 9th, 2015 10:05 am
Oct 15, 2007
85 posts
6 upvotes
Woodbridge

Friendly website feedback request, promise no 90s wayback ;)

My background is in web design/development, although I've never run an online shop before nor have any experience with web/social marketing, so this is all rather new and quite interesting to me. Together with a close friend of mine we launched The Songbag (www.thesongbag.com) a few weeks ago. We hand make the bags ourselves, and have received pretty stellar feedback when we used to wear the bags out and about through the Spring/Summer, such that we decided to try selling this at volume. We launched via Kickstarter, and have completely screwed up our launch (Kickstarter wasn't the right platform for us to launch and we didn't understand it well enough prior to launching)

We've scrapped the Kickstarter campaign, re-launched as an online shop and have utilized a bit of Instagram marketing. Once again, we've received pretty amazing feedback on our bags. Any time an Instagram influencer has posted a photo featuring our bags the response has been great. The problem is, not many people are buying the bags. Since we launched about 4 weeks ago, we've sold 11 bags.

Would love to get some feedback on why you guys think this to be the case. When worn out, feedback is stellar. Online, feedback is stellar. Sales? Not so stellar.

I just changed the product images to show the bag being worn, as opposed to images of just the product itself (as you'll see in additional product photos)

Appreciate any feedback or insight.
7 replies
Jan 30, 2015
189 posts
79 upvotes
Toronto
In terms of website feedback, to my untrained eye it looks like a well put together site. It doesn't have any WOW factor but certainly doesn't want to make me click away. Simple and effective I guess.