Students

Getting into Universities in Toronto

[OP]
Jun 2, 2018
3 posts

Getting into Universities in Toronto

Hi guys!

I'm a grade twelve student in Alberta, graduating at the end of June. However, my family is moving to Toronto soon so I would have to do my post-secondary there. I'm on the edge of English and it's been pretty tough (especially essays and reading comp.) for me so I don't know if my marks on other courses are enough to bring up my overall average. I love doing sciences and it's been great for me. I'm hoping to get into medical field so probably BSc in any sciences that could possibly lead me to either Dentistry, Pharmacy or Medicine.
My grades are:
- English 30-1 (I believe it is ENG4U in Ontario): 60%
- Math 30-1 (MHF4U): 71%
- Biology 30: 86%
- Chemistry 30: 78%
- Science 30 (I think it's SES4U): 89%

Based on my grade would I be better off doing Academic Upgrading or will I be fine applying to Universities? If yes, what university do you recommend for me? If not, what path would you recommend for me to take?

Thanks so much!! Hoping to get a response.
13 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2013
1802 posts
463 upvotes
Woodbridge
Ontario universities look at your top 6 grade 12 credits. All programs have ENG4U as a prerequisite. Science programs will likely want one or two sciences and one math, based on the program. What is your 6th mark? The 5 that you posted have an average of 76.8. Use this article to get an idea - https://www.macleans.ca/education/unive ... etting-in/
[OP]
Jun 2, 2018
3 posts
Sorry forgot the sixth mark, it’s the Math 31 which I believe is math and vectors something in Ontario and I have a 70 on it.
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2013
1802 posts
463 upvotes
Woodbridge
lexine wrote:
Jun 4th, 2018 1:04 pm
Sorry forgot the sixth mark, it’s the Math 31 which I believe is math and vectors something in Ontario and I have a 70 on it.