Careers

Going into Healthcare - Two Year Options

[OP]
May 11, 2017
32 posts
34 upvotes

Going into Healthcare - Two Year Options

Hello there,

I graduated with a Bachelor of Commerce, and now work for one of the big five banks. I'm looking to get out of the banking/financial services industry and want to go into healthcare, which means going back to school. I'm thinking about applying to the Occupational Health and Safety program at Ryerson University. I can complete the program in two years since I already have a degree, and it's relatively close to my workplace; ideally, I want to work full time or part time at the bank while completing the degree at Ryerson so I still have some sort of income.

On the other hand, I'm not entirely sure Occupational Health is the right path for me, and I'm not particularly fond of Ryerson...
Are there any other undergrad options anyone knows of that take two or three years? I was also thinking about going to Michener for Respiratory Therapy, but don't know if I'm cut out for shift work at a hospital. Honestly, I need to shadow someone, or go to something like a "Take Your Kids To Workday" event to make the right decision but don't have the connections. Any education/career advice would be much appreciated.
26 replies
Sep 4, 2007
996 posts
388 upvotes
Edmonton
Volunteer at the hospital and find out? You want to change jobs why? Money?
Aug 17, 2008
482 posts
8 upvotes
Just a heads up, the OH&S 2 year option at Ryerson would not be an ideal choice. The regular 4 year undergraduate program is better because it gives you a co-op option (the 2 year option you're thinking about does not). A lot of students that finish the two year option do not end up getting jobs because:

a) They have no experience