Careers

Going into Healthcare - Two Year Options

Apr 14, 2017
192 posts
61 upvotes
DT Calgary
Why not just leverage your current role into something you'd like more. Whether that's at your current company or somewhere else. I wouldn't advise going back to school for something completely different.
[OP]
May 11, 2017
28 posts
25 upvotes
FreshCo wrote:
May 14th, 2017 8:49 pm
Why not just leverage your current role into something you'd like more. Whether that's at your current company or somewhere else. I wouldn't advise going back to school for something completely different.
I know I'd have to start from 0 again but I don't know what I'd enjoy doing with my current qualifications; my degree isn't prestigious by any means. It may take me an extremely long time for me to find out what I enjoy doing in the financial services industry, and then getting the certifications to follow that path. If I'm going to switch career paths, I want to do it while I'm still young. I'm an impatient person, but I think I should just give up when things aren't working out.
Oct 3, 2013
235 posts
136 upvotes
BC
Just a word of advice, if you are seriously considering being an RT, definitely try to get in touch with someone in the profession since there isn't much out there about them. If you know of any doctors, nurses, or other health professionals that work in the hospital, that should be an easy way to get some contact information. I cannot speak to what the prospects of a shadow day would be in ON, but at least in BC, it'd probably be quite difficult to arrange without any affiliation to healthcare.