Wheels and Tires

Is it a good idea to replace my tires winter tires now?

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 23rd, 2019 1:39 am
[OP]
Aug 24, 2014
219 posts
9 upvotes
North York

Is it a good idea to replace my tires winter tires now?

I've been travelling abroad for several months.

Now I'm back to Canada, and my car with all season tires is still sitting in my garage.

Winter is almost over, but roads seem icy.

I need to drive every day, but I don't know if it's a good idea to get my tires changed with winter tires now.
16 replies
Deal Addict
Sep 5, 2004
4148 posts
505 upvotes
Guelph, ON
I would say you have another month of winter driving still, so yes it's a good idea and you can also find some deals right now.

For example, CT has Michelin X-Ice 2 on sale.

https://www.canadiantire.ca/en/tires/pd ... 82011.html

The risk of not having good tires still is obviously an accident, deductible and rate increase if at fault. Not to mention the obvious, injury, etc
Deal Addict
Aug 29, 2011
3967 posts
1459 upvotes
Mississauga
Size selection might be a challenge but if you can get them, get them.

Many years ago I bought a new car in January and was still able to get winter tires for it.
Aug 6, 2017
176 posts
203 upvotes
Also an important consideration is if you told your insurance company that you have winter tires fitted, you must have them installed during the stipulated period.
Deal Addict
Jan 16, 2011
3104 posts
2377 upvotes
The NORTH
Winter is almost over... LOL

With the polar vortex's this season there is no telling when "Winter will be over". Not to mention that winter tires handle slush and melt better than all seasons.

And does your insurance include a rider for having winter tires on your vehicle?

The Pro's seriously outweigh the cons for having winters.
Deal Addict
Dec 12, 2009
3053 posts
1095 upvotes
Toronto
gushingtears wrote:
Feb 17th, 2019 4:21 am
I need to drive every day, but I don't know if it's a good idea to get my tires changed with winter tires now.