Personal Finance

Got refused for an Amazon.ca Rewards Visa Card from Chase. Do I have a bad credit?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 26th, 2013 9:38 am
Tags:
None
Jul 6, 2009
68 posts
49 upvotes
Montreal

Got refused for an Amazon.ca Rewards Visa Card from Chase. Do I have a bad credit?

I am a student still living with my parents and have around 15k in bank.
I work every summer making around 8-12k.
I already have a desjardin visa card for student. I pay the whole amount I spend every month.

I will be doing a semester abroad in Korea, I was intending to apply for a credit card with no foreign currency transaction fee.

I applied for an Amazon.ca Rewards Visa Card from Chase few days ago.
Does it means I have a bad credit score?
Is there any other credit card that offer no foreign currency transaction fee which I could get?
34 replies
Deal Expert
Dec 5, 2006
16787 posts
12570 upvotes
Markham
Ryulink wrote: I am a student still living with my parents and have around 15k in bank.
I work every summer making around 8-12k.
I already have a desjardin visa card for student. I pay the whole amount I spend every month.

I will be doing a semester abroad in Korea, I was intending to apply for a credit card with no foreign currency transaction fee.

I applied for an Amazon.ca Rewards Visa Card from Chase few days ago.
Does it means I have a bad credit score?
Is there any other credit card that offer no foreign currency transaction fee which I could get?
sears MC
Deal Addict
Dec 14, 2004
1145 posts
468 upvotes
Waterloo
You don't necessarily have bad credit; speaking from experience and what others have said, Chase seems to be very stingy with credit. For example, MBNA is willing to give me huge limits, that are upwards of $20K, but Chase would only give me $6K on this card. Based on this, it's no surprise to me, that they declined your application.
Jan 8, 2006
450 posts
57 upvotes
Try to get Sears Mastercard, much more ease. No foreign transaction fee.
Banned
Dec 1, 2011
2427 posts