Careers

Has anybody quit their jobs to travel (long-term) ?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 27th, 2018 4:36 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Dec 20, 2015
102 posts
14 upvotes
Vancouver, BC

Has anybody quit their jobs to travel (long-term) ?

Just curious - have any of you quit a job (not a sabbatical) to travel for a long period of time (or just to take a break and stop working)? If so, what was your experience like with job hunting upon returning home considering your employment gap? (Let's just say long period is anything over 2 months for this question)

I am a relatively young professional (mid-20s) and in an intermediate position at my firm. I definitely don't have issues finding new work at the moment since I have good experience and education. However, I'm considering taking some time off to travel (3-6 months?) but I heard that human resource professionals tend to dislike gaps in employment history... After coming home, how did you deal with interviewers who questioned your employment gap and the reasoning behind quitting your last company? A sabbatical is not an option at my company and I definitely won't be able to go back to my old job after this trip.

I'm pretty happy at my current job but I just feel like it will be a lot harder to get away for a prolonged period of time once I settle down and enter the "mid-career" stage. It's been my dream to do a really long backpacking trip (South America) and I feel like it would be a good time to go soon. Alternatively, I could wait a few years and work my way up to a senior level position but then I feel like it would be even worse to take a long trip then? Any thoughts??
63 replies
Penalty Box
Aug 10, 2010
781 posts
183 upvotes
Mars.
Don't be silly. You're thinking about trading prime work time to go around and travel? That comes later in my life my young padawan.
Don't be a cooch.
Deal Expert
Oct 6, 2005
16463 posts
2107 upvotes
Why don't you just take a leave of absence rather than quitting outright?
Deal Addict
Jul 13, 2009