Entrepreneurship & Small Business

Has anyone tried opening a store on Etsy?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 10th, 2014 1:01 pm
[OP]
Aug 17, 2014
57 posts
23 upvotes
Toronto, ON
Sum_guy wrote:
Oct 21st, 2014 8:11 pm
I don't know if its better to go through etsy or just publicize through a blog. I'm going to put some items into a Xmas popup store on consignment but I'd like to give people an opportunity to see some of the other custom work I could do. I don't want to pay to list something on easy if it's not going to sell.
Xmas popup store? Sorry I am new to all those stuff. Could you pls be more specific or elaborate a little bit? Much appreciated! (Thanked ;D)
Deal Addict
Apr 7, 2011
1574 posts
266 upvotes
a popup store is a physical store that opens up for a short period of time. In my case there's a friend of ours that gets a bunch of artists to sell their crafts/artwork in one space. The retailer takes a (substantial) cut of the revenue, but they do have to rent space and work at the store. This is their Xmas show, they did another one in the summer and they've had a large art exhibition this past summer.

I'm not looking to make this a full time job so I consider it a good way to get some exposure and some sales. Ideally I'd drive some business back into my Etsy store where I can have less physical inventory (make on demand) and show some of the variations in colours/stitching/hardware/sizes that's doable. I can't compete against large manufacturers so I'd need to stress flexibility and uniqueness.
Deal Addict
Apr 7, 2011
1574 posts
266 upvotes
phatsi wrote:
Oct 28th, 2014 7:02 pm
What about a Amazon Store?
Most of the Amazon stores I've seen sell non-unique items. I don't think this applies to OP's situation.
Aug 16, 2013
20 posts
27 upvotes
Mississauga
Hi MisaHatake8,

Congrats on your decision to pursue this passion!

Here's my response to your questions (if you still needed some advice). It's lengthy, but hopefully it's helpful.