• Last Updated:
  • Dec 10th, 2011 11:15 am
Tags:
None
Feb 13, 2011
2 posts
1 upvote

have an issue with my neighbour because of overhanging branches

Hi, this is my first time posting here :)

I don't know my question belongs to this thread but here I'm asking,

I have an issue with my neighbour. The branches from the tree in my backyard are overhanging into the house next door. I’m definitely willing to lop off some branches but she's asking to cut too many branches, like a half of all branches because the tree was planted right beside the fence. If I cut all the branches she wants, the tree is going to look so awkward and not going to function properly as a tree. It would cause serious damage to the tree. Since the person next door is so insistent on what she wants and not understandable, I went to Markham's contact centre (I live in Markham) to get an idea for resolving this issue but they said, they don't involve in civil issues. (She also told me that the town would charge me if I don't do what she wants but she lied, they actually don't care.)

Is there any way I can protect my tree from this neighbour? I can simply say that I'm not going to cut all the branches you want since no one has the right to force me into doing so but I want to defense reasonably. It's not like I don't want to cut the branches. I mean, I don't want to damage the tree.

Anyone had the same issue before?
9 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 3, 2011
3230 posts
781 upvotes
Thornhill
Not sure the person you spoke with at Town Centre gave you correct information.

Markham's tree preservation by-law requires that a permit is needed before chopping off branches or removing the tree where the trunk is larger than 8 inches in diameter unless it is dead or, being pruned (professionally) where no more than 1/3 its branches are being pruned.