• Last Updated:
  • Apr 21st, 2015 8:49 am
Tags:
None
Jul 8, 2006
631 posts
35 upvotes
+1 on this

I recently caught up with one of my really old friends who became an artist\graphic designer. I had a look at his portfolio and it looked really impressive, he even gets some decent contracts for logo and flyer design, but he still barely makes ends meet. Art is unlikely to meet the OP's criteria of making a lot of money while doing something he loves. I am glad my parents steered me away from the arts and social sciences.
ironbrah wrote: Unless you are van gogh, you would be at bloor station drawing people for a can of soup.

Stop buying into this fallacy that do what makes you happy... its more like do what you have to survive.

So suck it up. Finish ur degree get a good paying job.
Feb 11, 2012
962 posts
72 upvotes
CONCORD
FirstGear wrote: I'm 21 and I've spent just about 2 years in the workforce full-time now, went to university for 3 1/2. I was an early grad with clear goals, now I drive trucks, run different machines, and stare at gauges. Soon I will then be cutting and pulling cables too. I make triple now vs. what I would make starting out in my field in study, but my work schedule can be horrendous, sometimes I don't see home for months, and work numbs my head. Nowadays I go to bed every night with the dream of one day sitting on hundreds of thousands or more of dividend-paying assets while sipping a nice beer on a beach somewhere. Some nights I still dream about fighting for my 'dream' job.