Shopping Discussion

Have questions about diamonds and engagement rings, ASK ME ANYTHING...

Poll: What is most important in your ONLINE diamond shopping experience?

• Total votes: 738. You have voted on this poll.
Price

56%
Selection

7%
27%
Information

5%
Addons (warranties, trade up policies, free cleanings)

1%
Location (Canada, U.S.)

1%
Customer Service, purchase assistance

4%
Deal Addict
Jul 29, 2013
1475 posts
657 upvotes
Toronto
keepingherhappy wrote: Hey thediamondshopper,

Was going to buy diamond studs for my wife and read on here that large retail stores are not the answer as one just tried to sell me an IMP2 clarity. I'm no expert but I had never heard of it and found this forum searching IMP 2. Where do you recommend that I look?
Hi,

Yes buying from retail/mall stores can really be a mixed bag. I work with both good and bad retailers and unfortunately there are sometimes more on the poorer end value wise than on the good end. They cater to a specific audience that favors convenience and immediate deliver over purchase value. Many jewelry consumers are not informed so this is a huge segment of the market.

Unfortunately to keep this thread info only I would rather not make specific recommendations on where is best to shop as my opinion might be seen as biased. Also this decision really depends on what you are looking for in terms of service as there is a broad spectrum from retail stores to costco to niche jewelry shops to wholesalers. All offering something different in terms of the mix of price vs services.
*Please read the Diamond Thread Summary on page 1 before posting especially the first 5 points :)*
**If you find the thread useful please give it a thumbs up**
Deal Addict
Jul 29, 2013
1475 posts
657 upvotes
Toronto
ProductGuy wrote: Thanks, I ended up getting one from the Bay as they had 70% off sale. I got the below for $1600 taxes in. What do you think?

http://m.thebay.com/webapp/wcs/stores/s ... -24?&pdp=1